Image

Carb Free Lasagna — all the taste minus the guilt

I am back on the wagon! I have been slacking on my healthy cooking (and eating) for a while. You know how it goes, life gets hectic and you just can’t seem to find the time. I was feeling pretty junky lately from my unhealthy eating and I decided that this weekend was the weekend to get back on track!

My quest was to make a noodle-less lasagna. I am a carb-aholic and so anytime I can find something tasty that can trick my brain into feeling like it’s getting carbs, it becomes an instant favorite. This delicious lasagna fit all the criteria.

Luckily for me, we got gorgeous eggplants and a picture perfect bag of basil in our Suzie’s Farm CSA box last week. Both of those were put to good use in this dish.

First, I sliced eggplant about a quarter inch thick and brown them in a little bit of leftover bacon grease (I can’t let that deliciousness go to waste). Then I set them on a paper towel to drain while I prepared the rest of the ingredients.

photo 4

Next I made the sauce by dicing and sauteing  a white onion and about 3 cloves of garlic.  After the onion was translucent, I added a package of ground turkey (you can use beef if you prefer) and browned that with the onion and garlic. I finished it off with a can of pasta sauce (you can use any kind that suits your fancy). This sauce is used in between the layers of the lasagna.

photo 1

For the base layer of the lasagna, you can use parsnips or carrots, I choose carrots. I sliced them in little disks (about a quarter inch thick) and lined the bottom of a greased casserole dish with them.

photo 2

Then came the layering…. This is the fun part because you can really customize lasagna any way you like. My layers went like this:

Carrots

Meat sauce

Basil

Eggplant

Cheese (you can omit this if you want to make the dish paleo)

Meat sauce

Spinach

Cheese

This is about half way through the layering process:

photo 3

After I had layered and stacked to my liking, I baked the lasagna in a 375 degree oven for about 40 minutes. Until it was bubbly and the cheese was nicely browned and crisped.

photo 5

I was worried that because there wasn’t any starch to hold it together it wouldn’t cut and store nicely but much to my delight it held up just like “regular” lasagna.

As with all my recipes, I like to make them customize-able  and  this one definitely is. You can add in zucchini, mushrooms, chard… and anything else your heart desires.

I purposely didn’t include the recipe in this post because you can make this dish with any combination of meat and veggies that you like. I would hate to inhibit your creativity with a strict recipe.

If you have any questions please feel free to comment and I’ll be happy to give you pointers.

Enjoy! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

