Super Bowl Sunday — Breakfast of Champions

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!!

Continuing my Sunday tradition, I went to (where else) Pinterest looking for a healthy recipe. I found this:

The Inspiration

I thought the recipe looked appealing but I was concerned they might be a bit bland. Being the type of cook I am, bland was just not acceptable. So I embellished. This was my process:

1. Start with the basis.

The basics

The recipe calls for 2 eggs and 1 banana. Since I was cooking for myself and my roommate, I made a double recipe. I added 4 eggs and 2 chopped bananas to a bowl and blended them with my trusty hand blender until smooth. Then came time for the embellishments.

2. Add in the flavors.

Add flavors

As with most of my recipes, this one is completely customizable. I stirred in about a half cup of chopped walnuts, about a teaspoon of cinnamon, and a dash of vanilla extract. As you can tell, my cooking is VERY precise. 😉 If my additions don’t appeal to you, feel free to add whatever suits your fancy – berries, apples, other nuts, or nothing at all.

3. Cook as if they were “normal” pancakes.

After you’ve added all your flavoring, cook them exactly like regular pancakes (buttered pan over medium heat). However, you only need to cook them for about 1 1/2 minutes per side. Unlike normal pancakes, the bubbles on top will not pop and the top will continue to be soft and relatively runny so do not think this is a sign that they are undercooked.

I also made bacon (I know, not super healthy, but everything in moderation — right?).

Bacon

Personally, I prefer baked bacon. Super simple…

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Lay bacon out on a cookie sheet, season with black pepper and rosemary (you can also drizzle on some maple syrup, but I didn’t have any in the house this morning).

 3. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes depending on how crispy you like it.

4. Transfer to a plate covered with paper towels to cool (slightly) and ENJOY!

Finished product

All in all, prep and cook time was about 30 minutes.

Thanks for reading and remember, you can’t be a happy wife unless you are a healthy wife!

One thought on “Super Bowl Sunday — Breakfast of Champions

  1. Yum! I have a quick easy crepe batter recipe for you and you can fill them with whatever you like; nutella with pineapple, applesauce and cottage cheese, fresh fruit etc.

    For one person: (multiply recipe by No. of people being served
    1 egg,
    ¼ cup milk (or just a touch more if you like really thin crepes)
    ¼ cup flour
    Add all ingredients into a small bowl and whisk together. Pour into lightly oiled, heated skillet and when edges turn golden brown flip. It doesn’t take long. Remove from skillet and stuff with your fillings, roll and eat.

    I have an olive oil mister I use to spray the pan beforehand to keep from sticking. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

